Production meetings, emails and schedules and other correspondence

Myself and Jake met on the Wednesday lunch of evening of almost every week from the last week of November

 

20161206_191015
2nd production meeting with Jake 6th December

Below I have included emails that chart, at least in part the progress of the film in schedules meetings and general organisation of time and dates.

The order runs from newest to oldest and I have tried to keep the pdf email inserts within this same time frame.

Our latest conversation by phone has just minutes ago brought us a new cafe location who have confirmed that We can shoot on a sunday, date to be confirmed…http://breakfastcafe.co.uk/home

LOW SEASON – SCHEDULE LATEST REVISION MARCH 16TH 2017

Date Scenes Locations
23rd of April Walkabout, Family Beach, Going for  Dip, Note flying.

.

Dawlish
29th/30th of April Busker, Walk about, Note flying Teighmouth
6/7th May Cafe/Arcade TBC
6/7th May

13/14th May

Arcade/Cafe TBC

footage!

Inbox

x

Russell Cleave

14:56 (21 hours ago)

to me

here we go mate

 low season 600d.zip

cheers

Rusty

Russell Cleave

Technical Demonstrator, BA (Hons) Film

Room T1.8

Plymouth College of Art

Tavistock Place

Plymouth, Devon

PL4 8AT

http://www.plymouthart.ac.uk/

Find us on: Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Tumblr | LinkedIn | Vimeo

The views or opinions expressed in this email are not necessarily those of Plymouth College of Art. If you have received this email in error, please delete it and notify the sender.

Attachments area

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

14:58 (21 hours ago)

to Russell

Thanks Rusty 🙂

The emails below are more recent and saved as Pdf files as opposed to copy and pasted, for the most part this whole post goes backwards in the timeline of pre production.

Preview of “Gmail – Storyboard for Lowseason”

Preview of “Gmail – Accepted- Camera tests-experime…017 4-30pm – 5-30pm (clake3@pca.ac.uk)”

Preview of “Gmail – Accepted- Rusty and Chris Film …b 7, 2017 4pm – 5pm (clake3@pca.ac.uk)”

Preview of “Gmail – Accepted- Rusty and Chris- film…? @ Sat Jan 7, 2017 (clake3@pca.ac.uk)”

Preview of “Cast &amp; Crew Contact List – Google Docs”2

Preview of “Cast &amp; Crew Contact List – Google Docs”

Preview of “Gmail – LOW SEASON PROOF OF CONCEPT (VIMEO)”2

Preview of “Gmail – LOW SEASON PROOF OF CONCEPT (VIMEO)”

Preview of “Gmail – Rehearsals – 4th of March”4

Preview of “Gmail – Rehearsals – 4th of March”3

Preview of “Gmail – Rehearsals – 4th of March”2

Preview of “Gmail – Rehearsals – 4th of March”

Preview of “Gmail – Yep its Indiegogo time!”

Preview of “Gmail – stoooory……boooord”

Preview of “Gmail – Low Season Schedule”2

Preview of “Gmail – LOW SEASON SCHEDULE”

Hey Chris, Tip messaged me the other day with some updated availability.

He may have spoken to you about it?

Basically the end of March/start of April doesn’t look very good for him now, he’s away the 23rd of March until the 3rd of April and then in Ireland from the 8th to 16th or April.

Looking at this the only time he’s available this month now is next weekend(11th/12th) or the one after(17th/18th). I know you feel like you’re too busy this month, so these probably aren’t viable?

Could we possibly do the Teignmouth shoots on the 17th/18th? (This seems like the location withe least amount of logistics to be organised, just need the busker)

If shooting this month is a possibility with you the we do as I’ve scheduled below:

Date

Scenes

Locations

11th/12th of March(?)
17/18th of March(?)

Busker, Walk about, Note flying.

Teighmouth

23rd of April

Walkabout, Family Beach, Going for  Dip, Note flying.

Dawlish

29th/30th of April

Cafe

TBC

29th/30th of April

Arcade.

TBC

If not, then we’ll have to push everything forward a week or two and look into shooting in May.

Let me know what you think and I can check with the others.

Best,

Jake

BUGGER!

Inbox

x

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

Not looking good for my friend he cant do any of those dates! could do the 15th -16th of April but that is in the easter holidays and I don’t think we discussed it with Tip…?

Jake Bench

20 Feb

to me

I can drop him an email tomorrow and see if he’s free then.

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

Thanks bro 🙂

Peeeeeace!

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

21 Feb

to Jake

Got Approval for the track from Moy gratis.  Now downloading 😀

Jake Bench

21 Feb

to me

That’s great news!

Tip is in Ireland on the 15th and 16th I’m afraid.

He’s all good to meet on the 4th and head down to hoe though.

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

21 Feb

to Jake

Cool ok mate that’s great on the 4th. May need to start looking for another dad and 12 yr old son who is nails enough to splash in the sea!

I will start enquiring.

Rehersals

Inbox

x

Where are you planning on doing rehearsals?

Booking a room at college?

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

Leave it with me I will see what is available

Will also speak to Rusty maybe try to combine with test also

Jake Bench

20 Feb

to me

Hey mate,

Have spoken to Rusty. He’s game but is unsure if pca is open on that Saturday.

Also, if I can get you to do a few things:

-Get availability of the the Norfolk folk.

-Get availability of busker dude

Cheers buddy

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

I’m on it! Thanks for contacting Rusty, while you have his ear can you ask him if he is free for tests on Wednesday this week?

Thanks man

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

Yeah Kashi (The Busker) is free for all those dates and he is checking on any sectarian significance to the track he is possibly going to play!

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

https://soundcloud.com/moby/stella-maris

This Is the track from Moby gratis, If you get a chance to do your techy thing and download a working version sometime that would be amazing.

cheers bud

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

https://soundcloud.com/artsandcraftsmx/03-skyscraper

Dude if you get a chance can you get a working copy of this track? I want to use it for mood trailer/pitch video, at least in the edit.

Also I have sent of a request for the Moby track I sent you earlier, I should get notification in 24hrs fingers crossed!

And finally The 8th is out for my child actor and his Dad but he is looking into other dates…maybe get the walking and busker scenes done?

Will keep you posted 🙂

cx

Jake Bench

20 Feb

to me

Hey man,

I’ll let you know when I have those tracks.

Rusty says he can do Wednesday. What’s the plan for the rehearsal if you can’t get into collge?

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

I don’t have one to be fair!

I will think about it…weather permitting we could go for a run through outdoors even return to the Lido. We don’t need sound so a walk around might be good…other option may be to head to Teignmouth so we can all have a look…

What do you think?

Re this Wednesday did Rusty give you a time?

Cheers buddy

Jake Bench

20 Feb

to me

He didn’t, can you let me know what you want him for and what times you can do and I’ll find out

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

This Wednesday with Rusty to catch up  for camera tests/experiments at pca post his work if he can book out camera etc.

It’s the one he cancelled on week before last.

As to rehearsal with Tip we were aiming at the weekend after next  weren’t we?

Jake Bench

20 Feb

to me

Ok, will drop him an email.

Yes, Tip can do march the 4th

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

Thanks brother I will send an google invitation on to Rusty just so he has got it in his diary…

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

Hey man Just wanted to check up on the suggested dates for shoots both march and april?

I have got down the 8th and 9th of April? which I cant get my friend and son down for, and the 15th and 16th of April which I will check in a minute, any others? sunday 23rd I think Tip said also?

Gonna ring him in a minute.

cheers bud

cx

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

20 Feb

to Jake

Jake Bench

20 Feb

to me

Hey man

Sorry I was filming a talk

I’ve made a document of the dates we discussed:

LOW SEASON – SCHEDULE

Beach Cafe

Inbox

x

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

2 Feb

to Jake

Hey man great to catch up today,

Tip Cullen tipcullen@hotmail.com

Blatantly name drop Rusty if you want 😉

Thanks dude, see you soon.

cx

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

8 Feb

to me

Thanks for this Chris.

I’ll let you know as soon as I know anything.

You still looking to shoot some kick starter stuff this Saturday?

Best,

J

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

8 Feb

to Jake

Definitely man! If you guys are still up for it?

Hey Thanks for that Jake God fingers crossed on Tip….I don’t have a back up plan!

Take it easy man

 Hi To Caroline

Let’s try catch up soon.

Rusty is sick so couldn’t do test yesterday.

Let me know if Caroline is up for Saturday…

Peace

Cx

Peace

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

10 Jan

to me

Hey mate,

Good news!

Beach Cafe have got back to be and say it’s still possible to shoot there.

They’re asking for a date, so is there any chance you could try and nail some of your actors availability in Feb?

Also, they’ve asked for public liability insurance in order in order to cover the shoot. Is this something we have the budget for?

Best,

Jake

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

10 Jan

to Jake

That is great news. Yeah I’m looking into it re: public liability.

And will chase up actor availability.

You around after work tmrw man?

We could catch up and I will pick up footage from sat.

Peace be upon you

Cx

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

10 Jan

to me

I am,

I’ll see you then!

“Warning I am reasonably long I am”

Inbox

x

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

5 Jan

to Jake

Hi Jake

Big hit on the Cafe mate, good work. Totally digging the breakfast and omelette bar? Whatever one of those is!

Can we find out possible availability on this one?

Thanks for contacting Josh Carter, That may work out for the best as Dan Smith contacted me today to say he is up for doing sound. He would of course be my first choice. So now having lined up 3 potentials….  Should be good, If anything goes wrong nearer to shoot date I will have to beg someone else… I will let Sam know but mention it to him if you do chat, he will no doubt have some choice words to say on the subject! Essentially I always wanted Sam as grip and Lighting tech anyway.

As to the meeting With Julia, I have mulled this over a lot, and Have concluded that for this film We may have to do without her expertise. Several reasons; Firstly I have no budget to play with, as the crowd funder campaign is probably not going live, and will possibly stay conceptual for this film and module.

Secondly so little in this film needs set design, it is being shot in real world settings as you know, and this sense of gritty reality I want to preserve in the feel of the film.

Really apart from the Cafe scene, all the rest of the locations require no dressing at all.

As to the cafe my wish would be to remove as much from the scene as possible leaving a stripped back minimalist look. I don’t think augmenting the locations will work, as a few posters to fix the piece in time feels a little weak and contrived, also it would limit the film in a way Im now realising is a negative.

Which leads me to the third point which is, It has of course not been my intention to lead anyone along here, but I do feel for this shoot keeping everything crew related to an absolute bare minimum, will keep not just the shoot tight and on track but the project and time management as a whole.

I hope this doesn’t put you in too awkward a position, please apologise to Julia and I would certainly like to work with her in future films.

And finally on kit Nice one man! Good score! I have spoken to Rusty and he is going to bring the steady cam and small video cam for some glide action!

Once again my apologies if I have put you in a tricky spot, I should probably mentioned my concerns earlier.

Look forward to seeing you saturday and looking at the gloomy seaside in January 😉

Peace out Brother Jacob

cx

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

6 Jan

to me

Hey man,

No worries!

I’ll see you Saturday.

CAFES n the like.

Inbox

x

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

5 Jan

to me

Sup digdug.

Josh C is totally up for it if he’s available but says he’s quite busy in March. When we have a date I can find out for sure.

Can you meet Julia on Wednesday evening at 5 at caffeine club?

Still haven’t heard from Beach Cafe.

Found a quite a few possible locations today, ranging from decrepit shells to functioning establishments.

Here’s my favourite:

This one is at the bottom of town, it’s a working cafe. Doesn’t look fancy inside, full of old codgers and it’s in an authentically shitty gritty part of the city. Doubt it’s open on Sundays. It’s the most suitable one I found really.

Unless of course you wanted to dress the whole set:

Also, I got the all good on borrowing some kit for Saturday.

J

 Not Waving but Drowning – Poems | Academy of American Poets

Inbox

x

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

16/12/2016

to me

https://m.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/not-waving-drowning

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

17/12/2016

to Jake, Russell

This short Poem really conjures up some of the ideas and themes for the film. That is of ambiguity, the hidden in plain sight, choosing to see what we want to see, and a hint of the dark potential of social norms…

Happy bloody Christmas! ;D

———- Forwarded message ———-

From: “Chris Lake” <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

Date: 16 Dec 2016 17:22

Subject: Not Waving but Drowning – Poems | Academy of American Poets

To: “chris Lake” <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

Cc:

https://m.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/not-waving-drowning

Check out this board on Pinterest!

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

13/12/2016

to Jake

Hey man I am a dumbass sometimes. The whole reason I joined Pinterest was originally to create mood boards, here is the mood board I have been adding to on and off for the last year for Low Season 🙂

 http://pin.it/nLjx6dZ

Have a great present giving day 🙂

Re: Bela Tarr… cont

Inbox

x

Jake Bench supertackfilms@gmail.com via pca.ac.uk

13/12/2016

to CHRISTOPHER

Watch “Satantango – Trailer” on YouTube

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

13/12/2016

to Jake

https://youtu.be/eQ66STMnBt0

Attachments area

Preview YouTube video Satantango – Trailer

Satantango – Trailer

Hey Chris,

There’s no images attached you numpty.

Also, can you contact me on jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com pleaseeeee

Cheers man

On Tue, Dec 13, 2016 at 10:53 AM, CHRISTOPHER LAKE – Student <clake3@pca.ac.uk> wrote:

Oh my god! This guy has already made my film and it’s 7hrs long! 😉

Ok just another geek out at images that capture mood and feel and aesthetic sensibilities…

You dig?

cheers

chris

Find us on: Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Tumblr | LinkedIn | Vimeo

The views or opinions expressed in this email are not necessarily those of Plymouth College of Art. If you have received this email in error, please delete it and notify the sender.

Find us on: Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Tumblr | LinkedIn | Vimeo

The views or opinions expressed in this email are not necessarily those of Plymouth College of Art. If you have received this email in error, please delete it and notify the sender.

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

13/12/2016

to Jake

Should be a link in there

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

13/12/2016

to me

Hey man,

I still can’t see anything 😦

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

13/12/2016

to me

Wait, it’s just come though!

Technology

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

13/12/2016

to Jake

Oops!

 Fair play, my mac has crashed now!

Bela Tarr

Inbox

x

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

08/12/2016

to Jake

I’m seriously veering back toward b+w reason. It will look stunning if we shoot it right. And some dodgy colours that clash at one of the locations.

For inspiration check out this guy’s work he is like a Guys who would make Tarkovsky wince at the duration of his long takes but he uses locations as formal characters as bleak as you like and by god they look stunning!

Bela Tarr

https://goo.gl/images/5CJHkS

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

08/12/2016

to me

That’s totally you’re decision my friend.

Those stills look awesome, I will definitely check that guy out.

Also, make sure you’re sharing this stuff/any other inspirations with Rusty.

When you get a second can you add his phone number + email to this:

 Crew Contact List

Cheers boyo

Attachments area

Yummy dereliction

Inbox

x

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

08/12/2016

to Jake

Weston super…peir dereliction delight 🙂

Attachments area

Jake Bench <jacobmakesfilms@gmail.com>

08/12/2016

to me

Awesome,

What about the arcade?

On Thu, 8 Dec 2016 at 10:00 pm, Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com> wrote:

Weston super…peir dereliction delight 🙂

Chris Lake <chris.12travels@gmail.com>

08/12/2016

to Jake

Totally still want to go for Teignmouth arcade and peir but perhaps a skeleton guerrilla crew shoot/recce at weston if poss. thing is having done a few dodgy no permission scoots they have to be really ninja black ops style and taking actors/luvvies probs won’t work. but we might recce and get some useable footage let’s keep it in mind for mood and setting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

